Easter Idles

I promised everyone that I will write blog about my take on Hovhaness Centennial and here, I failed again due to lack of time. Somehow I think Hovhaness will have to wait until my summer vacation.

Respect every religion – George Ivanovitch Gurdjieff

Well, school duties are more important and even though the scholarship competition I coordinated is over, I still have much catching up to do.

I am really looking forward to this week’s holiday break and hope to listen to some wonderful music that piled up on my desk during the last two months of hard preparation for the competition.

Now, I can’t wait to be a bit lazy in home as well as to present my radio special, the fourth annual Sacred Bridges. My blog last year explained the origins of the program, so I can be very brief.

G.I.Gurdjieff’s music – No 40 “Gurdjieff Folk Instruments Ensemble”

George Ivanovitch Gurdjieff

This year I will be including several works by the controversial Greek-Armenian traveler, mystic and composer George Ivanovitch Gurdjieff who said the following:

  • Conscious faith is freedom. Emotional faith is slavery. Mechanical faith is foolishness.
  • Here there are neither Russians nor English, Jews nor Christians, but only those who pursue one aim – to be able to be.
  • RELIGION IS DOING; a man does not merely think his religion or feel it, he lives his religion as much as he is able, otherwise it is not religion but fantasy or philosophy. Whether he likes it or not he shows his attitude towards religion by his actions and he can show his attitude only by his actions. Therefore if his actions are opposed to those which are demanded by a given religion he cannot assert that he belongs to that religion.

“Meetings With Remarkable Men” Dance scene

To hear Sacred Bridges tune to WPRB this Wednesday, April 4, 2012 from 5:30am till 11:00am and the Avant-Guard Edition will continue till 1:00pm.

Gurdjieff Sacred Dance – Ho Yah

For early music lovers I will also be presenting  “Little known Treasures of Early Music for Easter”.  This will be happening on Easter Sunday April 8, at 10:00am through 1:00pm.

Hope you will be able to join me for both special holiday programs. You will find more details about each program on my website 2 days before each show.

If you are not able listen to the broadcast, you always can go to http://www.classicaldiscoveries.org/index_music and listen to both programs at your convenience within two weeks after the file is posted.

About marvinrosen
Music is my middle name

Leave a Reply

