Christmas Trylogy and other jingles

I promised my friends last year that any time I have special events on Classical Discoveries I would post them in my blog. So far, I have generally not kept my promise. Maybe this would be a good New Year’s resolution?

I am a nice Jewish boy who gets excited about all my Christmas specials. Yes, I do!!

Well, not only Christmas specials.  After all, I present Jewish inspired music for Hanukkah, black composers for Kwanzaa and one of my favorites, Shall We Dance – a really fun show just before the New Year. If there were any Muslim holidays, at this time, I would have a special for that occasion also. For me there are no religious, cultural or social barriers. I just love all kinds of music.

I am not mentioning now my VIVA 21ST Century marathon since I am hoping to write a separate blog about it.

So this is how it goes.

I added some links from earlier specials. If you never heard any of these, you will get a good idea and to what I do and figure out why I am so excited about these programs. Also, please check my website before each show for more details at: http://www.classicaldiscoveries.org

Wednesday, December 14, 2011 – from 5:30 till 11:00am and from 11:00am till 1:00pm – the 15th Annual program: 

CHRISTMAS AROUND THE WORLD

http://www.classicaldiscoveries.org/playlist20101215c_s.html

Tuesday, December 20, 2011  from 5:30 till 8:30am – the 7th Annual program

CHRISTMAS IN AMERICA

Devoted to music for the holiday season by American composers

http://www.classicaldiscoveries.org/playlist20101220s.html

Tuesday, December 20, 2011 – from 8:30 till 11:00am –

DURME, DURME

Title of this program inspired by the beautiful Sephardic lullaby. Music of Jewish inspiration to celebrate Hanukkah

Wednesday, December 21, 2011 – from 5:30 till 1:00pm – the 15th Annual program 

A MEDIEVAL, RENAISSANCE AND BAROQUE CHRISTMAS – part 1

Lesser-known works of early music works celebrating the holiday, as well as some of my favorites.

http://www.classicaldiscoveries.org/playlist20101222s.html

I hope that listeners of my avant-garde show will forgive me for skipping this week’s show.  However, who can resist beautiful early music at the time when the world is lit with millions of Christmas lights.

Saturday, December 24, 2011 – from 5:30 till 9:00am

A MEDIEVAL, RENAISSANCE AND BAROQUE CHRISTMAS – part 2

Monday, December 26, 2011 – 1:00pm till Tuesday, December 27, 2011 – 1:00pm

VIVA 21ST CENTURY – 24 HOUR LIVE RADIO MARATHON

More about this in my next blog

Al Compas de un Tango (To the beat of a tango)- Courtesy: Artist Lesley Mitchell

Al Compas de un Tango (To the beat of a tango)- Courtesy: Artist Lesley Mitchell

Wednesday, December 28, 2011 – from 5:30 till 11:00am and from 11:00am till 1:00pm – the 15th Annual program –

SHALL WE DANCE   and SHALL WE DANCE – AVANT-GARDE EDITION

Please put on your dancing shoes and costumes, because this show will be fun.

http://www.classicaldiscoveries.org/playlist20101229c_s.html

Saturday, December 31, 2010 – from 5:30 till 9:00am – the 8th Annual –

MUSIC FOR KWANZAA

 Kwanzaa Celebration with music by black composers.

http://www.classicaldiscoveries.org/playlist20101219s.html

That is all for now. I hope that you will be able to tune at least to some of those specials and please remember that WPRB 103.3FM is heard all over the world at http://www.wprb.com/listen.php

I wish you all a Healthy and Happy Holiday Season and New Year.

 

About marvinrosen
Music is my middle name

Leave a Reply

